Main Navigation

Open Positions

Home Day of Collective Action

Day of Collective Action March 22, 2022

The Day of Collective Action initiated by the Presidential Commission on Equity and Belonging (PCEB) is a campus-wide moment of reflection and action designed to propel our collective goal to create an inclusive community forward. On this day, we ask students, faculty and staff to participate in workshops and other activities that will address racism, bias and discrimination. Specifically, we want to address the harm members of the Black community experience, which have been amplified in recent weeks.

The Day of Collective Action is a starting point. It is a part of the broader equity, diversity and inclusion work happening across campus in various forms. Further, we will use the feedback and learning that result from the day to deepen our understanding, fortify our resolve to keep every member of our community safe and to take specific action steps that both support and facilitate our collective healing. Most importantly, this will be the first annual event focused on collective community action.

We encourage academic programs to incorporate themes and faculty and instructors to participate in classroom reflection. We also ask that we all promote flexibility for students and faculty in relation to holding and attending classes on this important day.

More Details

Schedule of Presidential Commission Events



Live Streaming of Presidential Sessions

Campus Wide Events

Committee Members

Bryan Hubain, Co-Chair, Associate Vice President for Student Development and Inclusion, Co-Liaison for the Ute Indian Tribe
Christy Porucznik, Co-Chair, Professor in the Division of Public Health, Academic Senate President
Gloria Estepahnie Aquino, Student, ASUU Senate Chair
Lindsay Browning, Administrative Coordinator,  Department of Pediatrics
Conlee Dull, Student, Panhellenic Executive Council Vice President of Equity & Inclusion
Samantha Eldridge, Interim Director of the American Indian Resource Center
Rachel Alicia Griffin, Associate Professor of Communication
Amos Guiora, Professor of Law
David Hawkins-Jacinto, Associate Professor/Lecturer in Department of Writing & Rhetoric Studies
Jaina Lee, Student,  Presidential Intern
Scott McAward, Director of Disability & Access, Interim Director of Veterans Support Center
Sheena McFarland, Director of Marketing + Communications, David Eccles School of Business
Jude McNeil, Director, Office for Inclusive Excellence
Amanda North, Scheduling Assistant,  Student Affairs
Ofer Rog, Assisant Professor of Biological Sciences
Maryam Abdi Shale, ASUU Vice President for Student Relations and President of Black Student Union
Laura Schwartz, President-Elect of Staff Council, Associate Director of Administration at University of Utah Health
Ebsa Eshete, Student, President of National Society of Black Engineers at the University of Utah
Andrea Thomas, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies at the David Eccles School of Business
Alessandro Venosa, Assistant Professor,  Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology